Colorectal Committee

The Colorectal Section is defined by a multidisciplinary approach to the care of patients with colorectal disease. As such, as well as gastroenterologists and specialist nurses, our members also include colorectal surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, and others with an interest in colorectal disease management, including cancer, genomics, and functional disease. We have strong links to other sections within the BSG, and also to other societies, especially the ACPGBI. In recent years we have developed a number of new national guidelines, contributed to curriculum redevelopment, and run innovative educational events focused on multidisciplinary teams.

Committee Members

TitleFirst nameSurnamePositionAppointment TypeDate ElectedEnd of term
DrAjayVermaCommittee ChairElected20222025
DrIbrahimAl BakirCommittee SecretaryElected20222025
DrShairozSamjiCommittee MemberElected20192024
DrEdwardSewardCommittee MemberElected20222025
ProfTrevorGrahamCommittee MemberElected20232026
DrJabedAhmedCommittee Trainee RepElected20212024
MrLeeFindlerCommittee MemberElected20232026
DrMatthewKurienCommittee MemberElected20232026
DrRajRameshshankerCommittee MemberElected20232026
MsCarolineTapecCommittee Nurse RepElected20222025
DrKevinMonahanCommittee member; OtherCo-Opted20232024
MsSarahCrippsUKCPA RepEx-Officio20232024
DrMichaelDaviesACPGBI repEx-Officio

Terms of Reference

These are the Terms of Reference for the BSG Colorectal Section Committee.