Training Committee

The BSG Training Committee is a forum for discussion on the training needs of Specialist Registrars in medical gastroenterology.  It aims to coordinate discussion between professional bodies with an interest and make recommendations.

BSG Training Strategy
This document provides members with: an introduction from the BSG President and Chair of the Training Committee; a background of the committee, as well as recent achievements and current challenges; and a summary of the strategic priorities for training.

Hepatology Training Resources

Advanced Hepatology Training Posts

The ATPs below are approved for advanced training in Hepatology and include experience in a transplant (level 3) centre. These posts will form the ST6 year (primarily) for trainees branching into hepatology as part of the 2022 gastroenterology curriculum. The allocation process will now be region-based but there is flexibility if a trainee is happy to move regions. There is also flexibility for the 6 month/6 month posts in terms of whether one or both are filled from the same region (will depend on trainee interest from the two regions involved). All trainees interested in hepatology ATPs will be asked to complete the specific trainee information form. Of note the ATP year is not mandatory for NTN(A) hepatology trainees (typically ACL), who have had appropriate hepatology clinical experience, but they should otherwise make up minimum time in a transplant centre if not based in one.

View Posts

UK Level 2 (and 3) Hepatology Training Centres

PYR process for Hepatology trainees

View the full process details as well as hepatology subspecialty TPDs by region here.

Hepatology over the next 4 years

During the BSG’s 8th annual National Introduction to Gastroenterology Day at the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) in Birmingham on Thursday 30th November 2023, Dr Bill Griffiths gave an update on hepatology training over the next 4 years. 

Read the slides

TitleFirst nameSurnamePositionTraining Programme Director AreaEnd of Term
DrSimonPanterCommittee Chair 2025
DrKatieClarkDeputy Committee ChairTPD for IMT, Mersey2027
DrSafaAl-ShammaBSG Secretary 2027
DrElspethAlsteadTraining Programme DirectorNorth East Thames 
DrGillianBainTraining Programme DirectorScotland 
DrUmeshBasavarajuBSG Elected Councillor 2025
DrIonaBellLess Than Full Time RepAppointed2026
DrIanBealesEndoscopy lead for training  
DrCarolBlairCommittee MemberSouth East Scotland 
DrEdBrittonTraining Programme DirectorMersey 
DrGeorginaChadwickTraining Programme DirectorNW Thames - shared 
DrFergusChedgyTraining Programme DirectorKSS 
DrAndrewClaridgeTraining Programme DirectorSevern 
ProfAnjanDharCommittee Member - Chair of Education Committee  
DrNeilFisherNational Recruitment LeadWest Midlands 
DrRadhaGadhokTrainees Committee Rep 2024
DrBillGriffithsHepatology training rep  
DrPaulHaganTraining Centres Lead  
DrLucyHicksNW Thames - sharedNW Thames - shared 
DrMatthewHuggettTraining Programme DirectorNorth Yorkshire 
DrAlexandraKentTraining Programme DirectorSouth London 
DrSampathKumarTraining Programme DirectorSouth Yorkshire 
DrAidaJawhariCommittee Member - Chair of SAC  
DrAdamLawsonTraining Programme DirectorEast Midlands North 
DrJoelMawdsleyTraining Programme DirectorSouth London 
DrStephenMcClementsTraining Programme DirectorNorth West 
MissSarahMillsCommittee Member - Chair of JAG Training  
DrJudeMorrisTraining Programme DirectorWest of Scotland 
DrGrahamMorrisonTraining Programme DirectorNorthern Ireland 
DrKathrynNashTraining Programme DirectorWessex 
DrAndrewNelsonTraining Programme DirectorYorkshire 
DrDavidOliverTraining Programme DirectorNorthern 
MrsBJOlsenCommittee Member - BSGNA Representative  
DrRebeccaPalmerTraining Programme DirectorOxford/Thames Valley 
DrShairozSamjiWorkforce Lead  
DrArunShankarTraining Programme DirectorEast of England 
DrLisaSharkeyCommittee Member - Nutrition Rep  
DrArunSivananthanCommittee Member - Chair of Trainees Section 2024
DrVickySnowdonTraining Programme DirectorEast of England 
DrLawrenceSunderrajTraining Programme DirectorWales 
DrDhirajTripathiElected BSG Councillor 2024
ProfAndrewVeitchPresident BSG 2024
DrLouisaVineTraining Programme DirectorPeninsula 
DrRichardWarburtonTraining Programme DirectorEast of England 
DrEleanorWoodTraining Programme DirectorNE London