These ATPs are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. They are not just for aspiring transplant hepatologists – equally valid for DGH Hepatology but some will be better suited. Posts are recruited through a standardised national process hosted by Health Education London. The recruitment window will open in November for 4 weeks and interviewing will be on Friday 11th January 2019 at the London Event Centre with interviewers from the host centres, typically a panel of 4 or 5. Posts will commence in line with the national rotation date for Gastroenterology. Of note academic trainees ie those holding an NTN(A), typically in a CL post, do not require an ATP year outwith their CL but must ensure 3 m in a transplant centre.

The posts are aimed primarily at trainees who will be entering ST6 although entry at ST5 or ST7 is also permissible. Trainees need to complete the 12 months in order for the post to count towards accreditation. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) the trainee can be re-accommodated in the post on return from leave without the need for re-application. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date will not allow post completion – further advice should be sought from the parent TPD/LETB. Regarding LTWT, at 60% a trainee will have to do the post twice (and will be re-accommodated automatically). At 80% a trainee will be deemed to have completed the post after 12 m but accreditation will require in addition 14 m whole time equivalent of Hepatology training (minimum 6 m level 1) prior to CCT. If a successful candidate leaves their parent LETB an OOPT form will be required for LETB admin purposes.

Trainees are encouraged to contact individual host centres if require specific information. Of note there is usually only a short window between offer and acceptance (48 hours).

Hepatology ATPs

Lead centre
Transplant unit
Duration in transplant unit (m)
Contact
Email
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
12
Carol Blair
Carol.blair@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
Birmingham
Birmingham
12
Fiona Thompson
fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk
Liverpool
Birmingham
3
Paul Richardson
paul.Richardson@rlbuht.nhs.uk
Cambridge
Cambridge
12
Bill Griffiths
bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham
Cambridge
6
Guru Aithal
guru.aithal@nottingham.ac.uk
Oxford
Cambridge
3
Jane Collier
jane.collier1@nhs.net
Southampton
Cambridge
3
Kate Nash
kathryn.nash@uhs.nhs.uk
Sheffield (x 2 posts)
Leeds
6
Barbara Hoeroldt
Barbara.hoeroldt@sth.nhs.uk
Leeds
Leeds
12
Rebecca Jones
rebecca.jones36@nhs.net
Plymouth (x 2 posts)
King’s
6
Louisa Vine
louisavine@nhs.net
Newcastle
Newcastle
12
Mark Hudson
mark.Hudson@nuth.nhs.uk
Royal Free (+ RL)
Royal Free
6
Raj Mookerjee
r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk
Royal London
Royal Free
6
Vikram Sharma
vikram.sharma@bartshealth.nhs.uk
King’s  (+ St M)
King’s
6
Michael Heneghan
michael.heneghan@nhs.net
St Mary’s
King’s
6
Heather Lewis
heather.lewis4@nhs.net