Home > Knowledge Hub > Awards and Bursaries

Awards and Bursaries

BSG Nursing Award 2019

Welcome to the Awards and Bursaries section, a place to celebrate exceptional accomplishments in the field of gastroenterology and hepatology, and provide support to members in enhancing their knowledge.

Our aim is to recognise the outstanding achievements of individuals who have made significant research contributions, as well as offer support to trainees travelling to conferences to present their research, supporting their professional development and broadening their knowledge.

You can find upcoming awards and bursaries for which you can apply or nominate a colleague, as well as a comprehensive list of previous winners from the last few years. Please note some awards and bursaries are only available to members.

We also have research funding opportunities available here.

BSG Awards

Barbers’ Company Award for Trainees in Gastroenterology

CSSC Service Development Prize

Nurse Award for Service Development

Leadership and Management Prize

Trainees Out of Programme Award

The Alistair McIntyre Prize for Improving Gastroenterology Training

View all Awards

BSG Bursaries

ECCO Congress Travel Bursary

Annual Meeting Lab Science Abstracts Bursary

Annual Meeting Nurse/AHP Abstracts Bursary

Annual Meeting Research Abstract Bursary for International Delegates

View all Bursaries

Past Winners

The list below comprises previous winners from the last two years.

Arthur Hurst Lecture Granted at the president’s discretion, winner gives keynote lecture at the Annual Meeting, and receives a copy of the Arthur Hurst lectures book rebound to include their lecture, and inscribed by the President. Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald
Head of MRC Cancer Unit
University of Cambridge
Pioneering technologies to detect GI cancer earlier
President’s Medal Granted at the president’s discretion and awarded at the Annual Meeting to two recipients who receive free registration for the day and travel expenses. Dr Nick KennedyDr Nick Kennedy
Consultant Gastroenterologist
Royal Devon and Exeter
Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
University of ExeterDr Mesbah RahmanDr Mesbah Rahman
Consultant Gastroenterologist
Morriston Hospital
Swansea Bay University Health Board
Frances Avery Jones Award Encourages research by gastroenterologists working in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. Dr Prakash Ramachandran
Deciphering Liver Fibrosis One Cell at a Time
Sheila Sherlock Lecture An invited lecture by the BSG Liver section. Professor Julia Verne
Head of Clinical Epidemiology
Public Health England
Reducing variations in outcomes in liver disease – the challenges from prevention through to palliative care
New Perspectives Lecture An invited lecture by the BSG President. Professor Andrew Goddard
President, Royal College of Physicians, London
New Perspectives Lecture: Changing medicine in changing times
Endoscopy Foundation Lecture An invited lecture by the BSG Endoscopy section. Professor Horst Neuhaus
Head of Department of Internal Medicine
Evangelisches Krankenhaus Düsseldorf
Foundation Lecture: Advances in third space endoscopy
Dr Basil Morson Lecture An invited lecture by the BSG Pathology section. Professor Jean-Michel Pawlotsky
Head of Biology and Pathology
Henri Mondor University Hospital
Hepatitis C
Service Delivery Prize Recognises the work carried out by BSG members who have made a demonstrable impact on patient care by innovative service improvement. Winner: Dr Shyam Menon
Consultant Gastroenterologist
The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
Nurse-led Day-case Gastroenterology service in the Emergency DepartmentRunner up: Professor David Sanders
Head of the Academic Department of Gastroenterology
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals
Group Clinics for Coeliac Disease; Better for the Patients and Better for the NHS
Leadership and Management Prize Identifies and promotes talented trainee leaders nationally in order to promote leadership in gastroenterology for the future. Louise China
Out of Programme Designed to help gastroenterology trainees access training opportunities that aren’t available as part of their local training rotations. James Kang
Young Gastroenterologist of the Year – Clinical & Translational Science Identifies and promotes talented trainee clinical scientists nationally in order to promote research and science in gastroenterology for the future. Abhishek Chauhan
GUT Award Awarded to the best basic science abstract for oral presentation. Dr Mohamed Abdelrahim
Pixel-Based Deep Learning Models, A Step Closer To Real-Time Computer-Assisted Detection of Barrett’s Neoplasia
Frontline Gastroenterology Award Awarded to the highest scoring abstract for oral presentation. Mr Theo Georgiou Delisle
Can FIT rule out colorectal cancer in symptomatic patients? Results from the NICE FIT study
BMJ Open Gastroenterology Award Honours the best clinical science abstract for oral presentation. Dr Iain Macpherson
Intelligent liver function testing: 18 months of real world data

Historic BSG Prize Winners