Home > Knowledge Hub > Awards & Bursaries > Trainees Out of Programme Award

Trainees Out of Programme Award

Updated on: 29 Jan 2021   First published on 05 Dec 2019

The Award

The Trainees Out of Programme Experience Award is designed to help gastroenterology trainees in the UK access training opportunities that are not available as part of their local training rotations. There is a single award of £1000.


The award is open to any BSG member who is training in gastroenterology in the UK. This includes members of the BSG Trainees Section Committee not directly involved in the organisation of the award. Applicants must have a National Training Number (NTN).

The applicant should be undertaking (or planning to undertake) an attachment or posting outside of their normal training scheme. This may be within the UK or abroad, and can be a short term attachment or longer clinical post.

Conditions of the Award

The successful applicant must submit a report to the Trainees’ Section within 12 months of the award. The report should include a summary of the work undertaken and information on opportunities for other trainees.

The successful applicant must attend the plenary session of the BSG Annual Meeting for receipt of the award.

The prize money should be used to fund travel, to assist costs of arranging the post (e.g. registration with foreign medical councils) or to present publications arising from the attachment at national/international meetings.

Application Process

Submissions are anonymised prior to being assessed by a panel approved by the BSG.

The personal statement should contain a full description of the work, a description of why the work is relevant to training, and a proposal of how the money will be spent. The application should detail the available local training opportunities and what additional benefit the proposed attachment will offer.

Previous OOP Award Recipients:

2019: Dr Rebecca Harris, East Midlands Deanery
2018: Dr Shraddha Gulati, London and South East Deanery
2017: Dr Beverley Kok, Peninsula Deanery
2016: Dr Dipesh Vasant, North Western Deanery
2015: Dr Sarmed Sami, Yorkshire and Humber
2014: Dr Grace Dolman, Wessex Deanery
2013: Dr Lachlan Ayres, Severn Deanery

Submissions are not currently open for this award.

Login to your BSG member account to read and post comments on this page