Home > Knowledge Hub > Awards & Bursaries > Leadership and Management Prize

Leadership and Management Prize

Updated on: 29 Jan 2021   First published on 05 Dec 2019

We have relaunched the Young Gastroenterologist of the Year – Emerging Leader as the Trainee Leadership and Management prize. This award is designed to identify and promote talented trainee leaders nationally in order to promote leadership in gastroenterology for the future. There is a single award of £1000.


This award is open to any BSG member who is training in gastroenterology in the UK. This includes members of the BSG Trainee Section Committee not directly involved in the organisation of the award. Applications are welcomed from doctors in LAT posts as well as those in numbered posts.

Conditions of the Award

The successful applicant is required to attend the plenary session of the BSG Annual Meeting to be eligible to receive the award.

Application Process

Submissions are anonymised prior to being assessed by a panel approved by the BSG. Please answer fully and adhere to the word limit.

The bullet points below are suggestions for areas you may wish to emphasise and discuss in your personal statement. They are meant as a guide only. Please note that attendance at the plenary session of the BSG Annual Meeting is compulsory for receipt of the prize.

  • Describe your personal leadership development journey
  • Details of your personal experience of leading and engaging at various levels (e.g. team, system, organisation) with details of your impact on others
  • Provide details of your personal impact and effectiveness as a leader
  • Give evidence of leading on transformational and innovative change for the benefit of patients, staff, and the public

Previous Award Recipients:

2019: Dr Shairoz Samji, Yorkshire and Humber Deanery
2018: Dr Tahir Akbar, Wessex Deanery
2017: Dr Laith Alrubaiy, Wales Deanery
2016: Dr Philip Smith, North East Thames Deanery
2015: Dr Alenka Brookes, Yorkshire and Humber Deanery
2014: Dr Christopher Lamb, Northern Deanery


This award is not currently accepting submissions.

Login to your BSG member account to read and post comments on this page