Home > Knowledge Hub > Awards & Bursaries > Awards > President’s Medal

President’s Medal

Updated on: 18 Nov 2021   First published on 21 Jan 2021

The President’s Medal award is decided by the BSG President each year and awarded during the main Plenary of the BSG Annual Meeting.

Recipients will receive free registration for the day along with travel expenses if they are only attending the conference to receive the award.

BSG President’s Medal 2021 Recipient: Dr Tony Tham

Tony ThamCongratulations to Dr Tony Tham, Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist at Ulster Hospital, Dundonald, Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK, for being awarded the President’s Medal.

Dr Tham was the Chair of the British Society of Gastroenterology (BSG) Clinical Services and Standards Committee (CSSC), and was previously Deputy Chair and Secretary. He was also Quality Improvement lead and Guidelines lead of the BSG.

He is the President of the Ulster Society of Gastroenterology and is on the Governing Board of the European Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy and Chair of the Curriculum Working Group. He is on the Guidelines and Publications Committees of the World Gastroenterology Organisation, and was the President of the Irish Society of Gastroenterology. He was the Chair of Ireland’s national clinical programme for gastroenterology and hepatology clinical advisory group, and was the Head of the School of Medicine, Northern Ireland deanery. He is currently Vice Chair of the Specialist Advisory Committee for general internal medicine, Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board, UK.

Dr Tham has more than 80 publications and he is the first author of a book entitled “Gastrointestinal Emergencies”. He was the Guidelines Editor for Gut, and is currently on the International Editorial Board of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy; Associate Editor of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Endoscopy.

We are delighted to present this award to Dr Tham, acknowledging the huge contribution that he has made to the BSG both informally, and in his official role as chair of the CSSC.

During that time, he won the respect and admiration of many members, and his hard work and diligence was both noticed and appreciated. It has therefore given us great pleasure to award him with the President’s Medal at our 2021 virtual conference.

BSG President’s Medal 2020 Recipient: Dr Nick Kennedy

The BSG typically awards the President’s Medal at the plenary of the Annual Meeting, due to take place in June 2020. However, due to the circumstances of 2020, BSG has awarded the President’s Medal for 2020 remotely and will invite Dr Nick Kennedy to receive the award personally at the next BSG Annual Meeting.

Dr Nick Kennedy is a Consultant Gastroenterologist at the Royal Devon and Exeter and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer at the University of Exeter. His clinical and research interests are in inflammatory bowel disease (Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis), particularly in understanding treatment response in IBD. He is a member of the UK and international IBD genetics consortia, sits on the British Society of Gastroenterology IBD clinical research group and is an associate editor of Alimentary Pharmacology & Therapeutics.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, he was a key member of the group that wrote the BSG guidance for IBD including the risk grid helping to determine which patients should be deemed clinically extremely vulnerable. He then worked with the IBD Registry to develop a patient-facing tool to help patients and their clinical teams determine their individual risk. He has also been working on five studies to help understand the impact of IBD and its treatments on COVID-19.

This work is of enormous benefit to patients and has identified a realistic way forward for future data collection, innovating and using technology to overcome traditional barriers in this field of work.

The impact of this innovative work has had a great impact on data collection and collaboration in gastroenterology, and the BSG is grateful for the time and commitment Dr Kennedy has given to this important work.

BSG President’s Medal 2020 Recipient: Dr Mesbah Rahman

Usually, the BSG would award the President’s Medal at the plenary of the Annual Meeting, due to take place in June 2020. However, due to the unique circumstances of 2020, BSG has awarded the President’s Medal for 2020 remotely, and will invite Dr Mesbah Rahman to receive the award personally at the next BSG Annual Meeting.

Dr Rahman works as a Consultant Gastroenterologist in Morriston Hospital, Swansea Bay University Health Board. He has made a huge contribution to the BSG through the development and implementation of sustainable programmes of training education mentorship and scientific collaboration between the BSG and its international colleagues in Bangladesh.

Some of his notable achievements include the creation of the ‘Gastroenterology Training Academy’ which makes regular trips to Bangladesh, donating endoscopy training models and equipment to build a National Endoscopy Training Centre in Dhaka, Bangladesh. He also led on the establishment of the medical student exchange programme between Swansea University and Dhaka Medical College, the development and opening of the first dedicated specialty hospital in Dhaka, the Sheik Russell Gastro Liver Hospital, and the regular endoscopy training courses set up with the Bangladesh Gastroenterology Society in collaboration with the BSG. He also holds an honorary post as a Professor in Gastroenterology at Dhaka Medical College, Bangladesh.

The recent visit by BSG team was led by then-President Dr Cathryn Edwards and the team had a successful meeting with the Prime Minister of the country, who made her commitment to improving gastroenterology service & treatment in the country.

The reciprocal benefit of these and other schemes have had a great impact on the development of gastroenterologists and hepatologists both in Bangladesh and the UK, and the BSG is grateful for the time and commitment Dr Rahman has given to these projects.

Login to your BSG member account to read and post comments on this page