Home > Knowledge Hub > Awards & Bursaries > Awards > Hopkins Prize for Endoscopy

Hopkins Prize for Endoscopy

Updated on: 13 Jan 2022   First published on 20 Jan 2021

The Hopkins Endoscopy Prize is awarded every 2 years at the annual meeting on the recommendation of the Endoscopy Committee. The prize is awarded for the best submission regarding a technical innovation in the field of endoscopy, a new method using existing endoscopic equipment, or contribution to endoscopy research.

The successful recipient will be required to deliver a 30-minute lecture at the BSG Annual Meeting during the Endoscopy Session and will receive a framed certificate, as well as free registration for the conference and travel costs.


Entrants need not be a member of the Society and previous applicants are welcome to apply. The award is given once to any given individual, except in extraordinary circumstances and at the discretion of the BSG Endoscopy VP and committee. The Endoscopy Section reserve the right not to make an award if judges feel applications are not of sufficient merit.

Judging process

The BSG will convene a panel of judges to review the applications independently. They will score out of the following criteria, giving a total score out of 20. Scores are then ranked, and the chief judge reviews all scores and feedback to determine a winner.

  • The originality of work. Score from 0- 5
  • Contribution to the advancement of clinical endoscopy. Score from 0 -5
  • Contribution to the quality of endoscopy. Score from 0 -5
  • Contribution to research/ literature / evidence. Score from 0 -5

How to apply

Please complete the application form here.

Below are the fields you’ll need to complete.

All applications must include the following:

  • A manuscript (2 A4 pages ONLY) describing the work conducted
  • A bibliography of relevant personal publications (100 words)
  • An outline of the proposed content of the lecture, including title (300 words)
  • A written statement confirming that all or a substantial part of the work has been personally conducted in the UK or Republic of Ireland

The next Hopkins Endoscopy Prize will be awarded at the 2022 annual meeting, applications will close on 7th February 2022.


The Vice-President of Endoscopy convenes a panel of 3 people who review the applications.

Previous winners of the prize

Year Winner
2021 Prof Matt Rutter
2019 Prof David Sanders
2018 Dr Siwan Thomas-Gibson
2017 Dr Mark McAlindon
2016 Dr Kofi Oppong
2015 Prof Colin Rees
2014 Prof Hugh Barr
2013 Prof Pradeep Bhandari
2012 Dr Reena Sidhu
2010 Dr Krish Ragunath
2008 Dr James East
2006 Dr Matt Rutter
2004 Dr DP Hurlstone
2002 Prof CP Swain
2001 Prof GD Bell
2000 Dr DF Martin
1998 Dr GD Bell
1998 Mr  JF Bladen
1996 Dr Brian P Saunders
1996 Dr CB Williams
1994 Dr C Choudan
1992 Dr CP Swain
1989 Dr DG Bell
1988 Dr Hugh Barr
1987 Dr TC Northfield
1983 Dr J Dawson
1982 Dr JDR Rose
1981 Dr HJ O’Connor
1981 Mrs J Rothwell

Login to your BSG member account to read and post comments on this page