Home > About > Officers and Committees > Colorectal Committee

Colorectal Committee

The Colorectal Section of the BSG is defined by a multidisciplinary approach to the care of patients with colorectal disease. As such as well as gastroenterologists and specialist nurses our members also include colorectal surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, and others with an interest in colorectal disease management, including cancer, genomics, and functional disease. We have strong links to other sections within the BSG, and also to other societies, especially the ACPGBI.

In recent years we have developed a number of new national guidelines, contributed to curriculum redevelopment, and run innovative educational events focused on multidisciplinary teams.


Name Position Year
Dr K Monahan Chair 2017
Dr J O’Donohue Secretary 2016
Dr E Seward Member 2016
Dr S Samji Member 2016
Dr A Verma Member 2019
Dr I Al Bakir Member 2016
Dr M Matharoo Trainee Rep 2016
Dr J Warusavitarne Member 2017
Mr S Siddiqi Member 2018
Dr A Wilson Co-opted 2019
Dr M Paraoan Co-opted 2019