Home > Officers and Committees > About > Clinical Services & Standards Committee

Clinical Services & Standards Committee

The BSG Clinical Services and Standards Committee has a remit to advance excellent patient care by improving service delivery, encouraging quality improvement and producing guidelines and standards of care based on the best available evidence.


Name Position Year/Org
Dr T Tham Chairman
Dr A Douds Deputy Chairman
Dr R Ransford Secretary &  Four Nations, England
Dr C Edwards President
Dr A McKinlay President-Elect
Dr S McPherson Senior Secretary
Dr D Devadason Adolescent & Young Persons’
Dr J O’Donohue Colorectal
Dr M Banks Endoscopy
Dr I Beales Gastroduodenal
Dr R Pollok &  Dr G Moran IBD
Dr J Shearman Liver
Dr A Farmer Neurogastroenterology/Motility
Dr A Moore Oesophageal
Dr A Hopper Pancreatic
Vacant Pathology
Dr J Mannath Small Bowel/Nutrition
Dr J Gulliver Trainees
Dr S Raju Trainees
Ms B Simpson BSGNA 2020
Dr H Fidler BSG Council 2019
Dr M Lockett BSG Council 2019
Dr C Rutter Workforce
Dr J Stewart BSG Lead – RCP Patient Safety Committee
Dr P Neville Four Nations Chair, Wales
Dr M Heydtmann Four Nations Rep, Scotland
Dr P Hall Four Nations Rep, Northern Ireland
Prof J Brown Health Informatics and Payment by Results Lead
Dr T Ellis ESBGH
Vacant ACPGBI Ex officio
Dr K Barrett PCSG Ex officio

CSSC Regional Representatives

Name Representing
Dr D Reffitt South London
Dr L Alrubaiy North London
Vacant Yorks & Humber
Dr R Bevan North East
Dr M Gallagher & Dr P Sattianayagam South East Coast
Dr Y Ang & Dr A Moore North West
Dr J Ramage & Dr R Madhotra South Central
Dr N Michell South West
Dr J Stewart East Midlands
Dr J Shearman & Dr N Bhala West Midlands
Dr B Brett East of England